NEED help wasting money!

cms819cms819 Member Posts: 26 ■□□□□□□□□□
Alright guys... I just got my CCNA certification. I have 1 years experience installing routers/switches loading configurations and basic troubleshooting with NOCs and Cisco Engineers. I also have experience replacing hardware components for servers, dekstops, and know how to terminate cat5e and cat6 cable. I really want to go in the field of networking. I bought books for CCNP, Server 2012, and ITIL foundation and now I see RHCSA is valued as well. What certification should I start working on.. So frustrating I want all of them!! but I want one that will help me get in the mid level job door.

Any advice will help thanks!

Comments

• thewiz8807thewiz8807 Member Posts: 96 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I'm in the same situation. My ultimate goal is to be Network Security Engi, or something to that effect. Preferably working a Gov or Private Sector position.

I'm not sure where to go next. Just got my CCNA R&S and originally I had my sights set on Security+ but right now I'm just trying to get my foot in the door, an SOC reached out to me and the status on that is still pending.

I'm not sure which certs hold more weight in that field...the RedHat or Microsoft certs. I read on here that Linux certs are pretty commonly required for security positions but when I look at job postings I see mostly jobs asking for Microsoft Certs.

Any advice is appreciated, hopefully OP gets his question answered as well.
    Goals: Network+ (Done) -> CCNA: R&S (Done) -> CCNA: Security (Done) -> Security+ (Done) -> ITIL v3 Foundation (Done) -> CASP (Done) -> CCNP: R/S (In Progress) -> CCNP: Collaboration -> CCSK -> CCSP -> CISSP
  • thatguy67thatguy67 Member Posts: 344 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Same boat as both of you folks. I want to be in security and you need to know networking and OS. With the virtualization trend taking off, I would imagine it's only a matter of time until that's another necessary skill in the toolbox.