Is the CCNP:Route the hardest of the three?

marcj04marcj04 Member Posts: 75 ■■□□□□□□□□
So I have recently started studying for the CCNP:Route about 2 months ago. I am using the Official Cert Guide and I am only on Chapter 10. This material seems so much tougher than the CCNA. Don't get me wrong, I am enjoying every minute of learning new material but I thought I was going to be able to pass this by the end of the year.

Would you guys consider the CCNP:Switch or CCNP:TSHOOT to be harder than the Route?

Comments

• bermovickbermovick Member Posts: 1,135 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I took the previous version of the exams, but ABSOLUTELY. There's so much "more" and the material goes quite a bit more in-depth. I ended up studying route for maybe 5 or 6 months total, using multiple resources because of how 'dense' it is.

SWITCH wasn't terribly difficult. I studied it for about a month to 6 weeks.
    TSHOOT I could have sat on the same day I took Switch (if I'd had the money). If you know ROUTE and SWITCH, TSHOOT is a piece of cake.
    Latest Completed: CISSP

Current goal: Dunno
  • networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    It's really all going to depend on your comfort level with the material beforehand. Obviously someone very comfortable with routing topics won't find the exam as difficult as someone not as familiar.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • hurricane1091hurricane1091 Member Posts: 919 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I had read the first 7 chapters of the CCNP book when I first started here awhile ago. It's way more in depth than the CCNA and what's helped me is that we're doing the things discussed at my job. Would be really tough to grasp if we weren't.
  • fredrikjjfredrikjj Member Posts: 879
    I thought switch and route were similar in difficulty and I had almost identical scores, but I spent two weeks less studying for switch.
  • d4nz1gd4nz1g Member Posts: 464
    SWITCH was the hardest for me.