Trouble locating a new job

SavvyITSavvyIT Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi! This is my first post but I've been lurking for years. Very helpful forum you have here. Thanks for all the advice so far!

I'll keep this as short as possible. I worked as a contractor at a military help desk of sorts around 3 years ago, as a civilian. I had some health problems and was unable to keep up with the schedule, and the company refused to adjust my schedule while I recovered, and then let me go shortly after. I am better now.

I currently work at a local computer repair shop that has 4 locations nearby, and have been working here since I left the previous Tier II help desk job ~2yrs ago. I'm a lead technician and do everything from repairs and diagnostics to fully building new computers, but as you know if you've had a job like this, it doesn't pay much at all ($10/hr no benefits). It was great while dealing with health stuff because the schedule was flexible. But now that I'm better, I'm ready to jump back into a real IT job.

Several months ago I acquired my Security+ CE cert, and I have my A+ CE as well. I've been searching for a help desk job locally (Georgia, a city to the East of Atlanta) as well as in Charleston, SC (a friend lives there and has an apartment room waiting for me if I find a job).
I would say my skill level is around Tier II help desk or Jr Sys admin. I have little experience with VM's and only basic experience with Active Directory (creating and modifying accounts, etc).

I am just not able to find a help desk job anywhere. I'm not being picky either. From what I've learned, pretty much any good job will be filled from internal employees or through a referral and won't be posted online publicly.