A newbie questions

ReyneReyne Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
First of all, my question are about courses, not really about certificates.
The thing is im doing a degree in order to be able to enter university and study IT, im looking forward security and pentesting. I lack basic knowledge about IT, the level of the degree is ridiculously low and Im getting frustated about how slow Im learning.
During the last year Ive been playing around with ruby and kali, but not even enough to be called newbie or script kiddie.
I really want to learn, and my degree is so easy I have plenty of time, 2 years exactly... I simply have to do it in order to reach uni.

Im looking for a course from the very beginning. I saw a few pentesting courses at elearnsecurity, the hacking dojo, and OFSC, but the OFSC one didnt seem to be aimed to newbie because it asked python and other basic knowledge (I do know a bit of tcp/ip and linux, but wathever, consider myself a ignorant), while elearnsec does have one aimed for beginners and hacking dojo to.
I didnt hear quite much about hacking dojo, so I came for a recommendation or some sort.
Any recommendation?

Thanks, by the way.

Comments

• BlackBeretBlackBeret Member Posts: 683 ■■■■■□□□□□
    http://www.cybrary.it is free and has lots of courses from basics to "advanced" pentesting. I would start there before you start spending money. A lot of the courses on it are labeled with the certification names that they would correspond to. You know your own strengths and weaknesses, but I would recommend as a foundation the CompTIA A+, Network+, Security+, and Linux+ courses. Then go for the Penetration Testing and Ethical Hacking, Post Exploitation Hacking, Python for Security, Metasploit, Advanced Penetration Testing, etc. You can't beat free training when you have the time!