GSEC, GSLC, or GISP?

PJ_SneakersPJ_Sneakers Member Posts: 884 ■■■■■■□□□□
I may have the opportunity to get some SANS training, and I was wondering which GIAC cert would have the best ROI: GSEC, GSLC, or GISP. I kind of like the idea of GISP to help prepare for CISSP, but that can be done in other ways.I understand the GSEC is more technical than the GSLC, but what exactly is covered in GSLC training? It's more management-oriented, right? I'm not sure which is a better fit at this point. I am not an infosec guy per se, I am an administrator for systems that requires compliance with federal mandates.GSEC sounds more fun than GSLC to me, but GSLC may be more useful? icon_scratch.gificon_scratch.gificon_scratch.gif

Comments

• chanakyajupudichanakyajupudi Member Posts: 712
    GSEC would probably the best choice if you want something technical in the options that you have mentioned.

I do not know about the GSLC though. According to GIAC - GSLC is for Security Professionals with managerial or supervisory responsibility for information security staff.
    Work In Progress - RHCA [ ] Certified Cloud Security Professional [ ] GMON/GWAPT if Work Study is accepted [ ]
    http://adarsh.amazonwebservices.ninja

• docricedocrice Member Posts: 1,706 ■■■■■■■■■■
    As a generalization, the GSEC is probably the best ROI out of those three if you're looking for something to provide context when dealing with compliance. Understanding the logic and reasoning in the security domain is incredibly useful as security principles aren't always intuitive. SANS 401 doesn't dive deep into any particular territory, but it definitely serves as a good foundation for systems-oriented folks. It's mostly about realizing the security-perspective. Most network and systems engineers tend to look at availability and performance, whereas security adds on that extra dimension about risks and threats.
    Hopefully-useful stuff I've written: http://kimiushida.com/bitsandpieces/articles/