Should I do Server+ ?

BBirBBir Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
I will preface this by saying I have no certifications whatsoever. I have been working for about 8 years in a desktop administration/jr. sysadmin type of roles. I have been discussing roles with my boss and I think the Server+ would be a good starting point with to transition to a sysadmin/infosec style position with my current company.

Any suggestions from those of you who have certified? SK0-004 study materials?

I took a 100 question practice exam and did very well on it, but could use some advice from you guys and gals?

Thanks in advance!

Ben

Comments

• fuz1onfuz1on Member Posts: 961 ■■■■□□□□□□
    What OS are you running at your job? That should sway your route. If it's a hybrid environment, then maybe Server+ would be a good starting point (especially if work pays for it). I took SK0-003 when it was on sale and really have never found it mentioned much in job descriptions but it helped me retain some hardware knowledge I'd misplaced along the way. Vendor-specific certs usually have have more ROI.
    timku.com(puter) | ProHacker.Co(nsultant) | ITaaS.Co(nstultant) | ThePenTester.net | @fuz1on
    Transmosis | http://transmosis.com | LinkedIn | https://linkedin.com/in/t1mku
    If evil be spoken of you and it be true, correct yourself, if it be a lie, laugh at it. - Epictetus
    The only real failure in life is not to be true to the best one knows. - Buddha
    If you are not willing to learn, no one can help you. If you are determined to learn, no one can stop you. - Unknown
  • BBirBBir Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
    We are primarily a windows environment on both workstations (7, 8, 8.1...maybe 10) and servers (2012 R2, no clue on 2016 release and use, yet). We have some Linux servers sprinkled in and we may be migrating some DNS/DHCP/DMZ responsibilities to Bluecat, if you're familiar with their stuff.