Options

New IT Need help

do.tgiangdo.tgiang Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi. I still stuck in nowhere to get a job. And I really want to do something to get a good job. I used to study IT before but for some reason I can not finish my college degree. I wanna study and get some certification by myself. Can you guys help me to let me know which one I should get that is not require BS or College degree? I'm studying CompTIA A+ now and plan to take the test at the end of next month. If I pass, which one should I go with. Thank you so much!

Comments

• Options
    Skynet9Skynet9 Member Posts: 83 ■■□□□□□□□□
    First of all, None of these certs require college degree...
    Second, if you are tight on budget, I suggest you go for sec+ followed by CCNA. That doesn't mean you should not study A+ and N+ books, you should, just don't waste that much money on comptia.
  • Options
    White WizardWhite Wizard Member Posts: 179
    I'm not sure why everyone recommends/ thinks CompTIA certs are either a good starting point or will get you a job.

Most people that have been in IT for awhile know CompTIA certs are a joke compared to others. Certifications validate knowledge and show you prepared for that particular subject. Not that you necessarily can solve problems, implement what you learned, or know what you are doing.

We need more information. What do you know and do not know about IT? Not a single certification that I know of in IT requires a college degree. What field of IT do you want to work in or enjoy? Without more information, I will not recommend throwing away $900.00 on a set of CompTIA certs.
    "The secret to happiness is doing what you love. The secret to success is loving what you do."
  • Options
    yparkypark Member Posts: 120 ■■■□□□□□□□