Options

Passed CISSP Oct2015-Week3 (5 weeks study)

rony1234rony1234 Member Posts: 27 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi All,

I passed my CISSP exam this week. I'm an infosec professional with 19 years IT experience. My journey preparing for the CISSP exam started on 10/Sept/2015. The past 5 weeks included intense studying, had to literally give up all the frills life had to offer. I was thankful my wife understood the need for me to have total free time at home to study (she managed everything at home along with the kids for the past 5 weeks), for those of you who are married and with kids, you do need your spouse to support you in your endeavour. I have outlined my approach on studying for the exam below.

1. Cybrary.it videos (Rating 9/10) ---> Great and awesome materials, I'm going to donate some $$'s to them now. Kelly H. is bang on in her teaching and in highlighting the important topics. I viewed all the online videos in 1.5X speed since I found the default speed too slow. It also helped me cover the material fast. In the last 2 days, I viewed around 60% of the videos again as a refresher at 1.8X speed.
2. MP3 audio files downloaded from MH site by Shon Harris (Rating 8/10) ---> Though the audio material does seem a bit outdated, I have to say I did learn a real lot by listing to Shon's explanations. These audio files are top class, I couldn't have done it without them. I listened to them in 1.7X speed in VLC player.
3. Book: CISSP study guide 2nd Edition (Eric Conrad): The book covers just the material required and is a pretty easy read (unlike the long explanations in the Shon Harris book), though in my opinion it does need an update since all the new materials are not in it.
4. Book: Sybex CISSP 7th Edition Study Guide: This book covered all the new materials that I felt were missing in the Eric Conrad and the Shon Harris books. The explanations provided on some of the topics also opened up my mind to the different possibilities.