Pentesting Book for beginners

exspiravitexspiravit Member Posts: 44 ■■□□□□□□□□
So, at a local maker space I'll be starting up a group with the interest of making a virtual cyber range, if you will. I want to accomodate all levels from Total Newb on up. I have found two books that I think could be used as text books that will hopefully hold our hands enough to set up the environment. If someone here happens to have some experience in using a book (ideally) on how to do this, please chime in. The two books are:

Building Virtual Pentesting Labs for Advanced Penetration Testing
Packt Publishing, June 2014
http://amzn.to/1hTr6FO

The Network Security Test Lab: A Step-by-Step Guide
Wiley, August 2015
Amazon.com: The Network Security Test Lab: A Step-by-Step Guide eBook: Michael Gregg: Kindle Store

Since I am in a state of "discovery" as I search *.edu domains, I do have more material. Having a book that everyone could buy and take home is really helpful. I also have some CTF links and other resources I gathered from DC23. But, any links, or other resources would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• BlackBeretBlackBeret Member Posts: 683 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Penetration Testing: A Hands-On Introduction to Hacking by Georgia Weidman Penetration Testing: A Hands-On Introduction to Hacking: Georgia Weidman: 9781593275648: Amazon.com: Books

I felt this was a great book even for beginners.
  • iBrokeITiBrokeIT Member Posts: 1,318 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Arizona Cyber Warfare Range - Arizona Cyber Warfare Range | Revolutionary advancement in cyber security happens here. does something like this already. Might want to check them out to see how you can compliment what they have to offer and do better in other areas.

** Not trying to rain on your parade at all just letting you know that something like this already exists. The more labs available to the public the better in my mind.
    2019: GPEN | GCFE | GXPN | GICSP | CySA+ 
    2020: GCIP | GCIA 
    2021: GRID | GDSA | Pentest+