Options

Complete Newb - But ultimately want to go into Security career

murrayjmurrayj Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi - just joined the forum so a bit mind-boggled at this stage looking through some of it. Anyway, I ultimately want to go into a Info Security career - i used to be an accountant (not a qualified one tho). I've been looking to move to an IT career for some time now and my current thinking on a study path is to take the CompTia exams (A+, Network+, Security+), but after that I'm not sure - some say to take the CCNA exams, then the OSCP (not even sure what that is right now). Then there are other options like CEH, SSCP and CISSP. What would you suggest for someone like me starting from scratch?

Then once I've decided on my path above I need to find out how best to go about my studies - where do you suggest I get the training/books from that will give me the best or most comprehensive knowledge possible? Is it possible to study for these exams for free? I've had a look at organisations like computeach and the learning people but a bit iffy about them. I see this forum seems to have some notes sections but I'm not sure how comprehensive these are. Some pointers would be useful if anyone has suggestions. (I'm based in the UK btw).

Comments

• Options
    Params7Params7 Member Posts: 254
    Welcome! Most people here self study for certs. The only cost is for books, equipment (if needed) and the exam registration itself. I usually get my books from Amazon. The Comptia Trio will give you a base enough to get hired for entry level IT jobs, which will most likely be helpdesk/IT Support. Generally people figure out from there if they want to specialize in networking (Cisco certs), Servers (Microsoft/Linux tech) as they seek to climb the ladder in their organizations. Of if you know what you like beforehands, you can start studying for those certs after the trio. OSCP is an info security cert - something for folks with some experience in the field.
  • Options