Getting ready soon

hurricane1091hurricane1091 Member Posts: 919 ■■■■□□□□□□
Greetings,

I am down to just three classes at WGU and will finish 1 very soon, leaving just tech writing + capstone. The CCNP is logically next since I work as a Network Engineer, but don't really get to dive into the crazy depths yet. I used to think the CCNP was impossible to get to before I took the CCNA, so it's cool to be at this point.

Now, I was really planning on just reading the official book and taking notes, but I recall there being no actual labs in there. For example, I recall reading about DMVPNs. It would probably be good to have an actual lab to follow, but is it necessary or could I just go ahead and do it on my own? Curious to see what other people did.

I took awhile to do the CCNA since I wanted to learn it, so there's no rush to get this done. Obviously, the sooner I get it done the better, but there's no timeline like I said. I want to be genuinely great and it's been mentioned before here, but you do not get paid the big bucks because of a cert, you only get the opportunity. You still need to ace the interview, and be good at it. So, I just would like to see what has worked for other people in recent times. I used CBT nuggets for the CCNA, but unsure if I will again.

Does anyone actually read this T-Shoot book either? Or do people just go take it after doing the route and switch exams? Equipment is also no issue as I have anything and everything available to me at work, which is fantastic.

As for the CCNP Security, is that really necessary? Now, at my job we handle the firewalls - there is no separate team. I do not do much with them yet though. My boss claims the R&S is important, but did not stress the security exam. At the point of completing the R&S, I would either do the Security or go back to WGU for an MBA. There's value in both really, I'd love to have both. But maybe someone with a Sr. Network Engineer job can go into detail on their opinion.

Comments