Sitting for CCENT in 1.5 Weeks

xengorethxengoreth Member Posts: 117 ■■■□□□□□□□
I'm a slacker when it comes to certs, but a I'm getting the feeling having at least a CCNA (R/S) at my workplace is going to become a hard requirement in about three months, so I thought I'd get ahead of the curve and start working on it now. My goal has always been to expand that to the CCNP (R/S) as well.

Currently, I'm re-reading the Odom book and doing a few sub-netting drills on Subnetting Practice Questions. It's taking me about 15 seconds per question, on average. I can do the calculations in my head, but I'll probably write out a table on the dry-erase board so I don't make stupid mistakes.

I work with Cisco devices at work and I have a lot of hands-on with their gear, which may help.

My main worry is IPv6, which I have no practical experience with, so I plan on hitting that really hard. I'd also like to do a big refresher on EIGRP, since we're running OSPF at work (and on my home network). At home, I have two 3560s, two 2960s, three 1841s, and a couple other routers from vendors capable of running actual interior routing protocols (Ubiquiti, for example). Finally, I just installed Cisco VIRL (as a virtual appliance on ESXi) at home, so hopefully I can supplement with that!

Any suggestions anyone has at this point would be greatly appreciated.
2018 Goals: CCNP R/S, VCP6-NV

Comments

• DeathmageDeathmage Banned Posts: 2,496
    you won't touch IPv6 til ICDN2. Good Luck bro, I just failed ICDN2 myself, it's a bear!
  • volfkhatvolfkhat Member Posts: 1,046 ■■■■■■■■□□
    The ICDN1 exam was painfully WEAK in terms of actual 'technical' configurations.

Passing the Exam had more to do with ANswering their Goofy multiple choice questions.
    To be honest, it felt more a Network+ test.
    I was quite disappointed.

my 2 cents:
    Review your study material once;
    then spend $150 and immediately TAKE the test.
    Don't take weeks & weeks & weeks to "know everything".