Upcoming Interview for a Job that is Over My Head

olaHaloolaHalo Member Posts: 748 ■■■■□□□□□□
Right now Im working as a mid level guy in networking in a very safe job with a school district.
Im doing basic LAN network design/installation/troubleshooting. Nothing too difficult.

I have a handful of low level certs, BS from WGU, and only about 3 years experience.

I am also a job hopper who has constantly moved up every job hop in shorts amount of time.

I recently was contacted directly (not a recruiter) by a company who wants a "Senior Network Engineer" with 5-10 yrs experience, BS degree, CCNP level certs, and experience with a bunch of things Ive never touched.
I am currently studying for the CCNP, but I am no where near taking it.

I will be happy to go interview with them but I am curious about my approach since by their own requirements I am not qualified and will be in over my head from the start. But since they contacted me and said they were impressed with my resume I am a little hopeful.
I have not discussed salary range with them yet but I plan to before interviewing as to not waste anyones time.

Also after snooping current employees with the company on LinkedIn, they all blow me out of the water in terms of experience and certs.

Just wondering anyone's thoughts on situations like these.

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    As long as you didn't lie on your resume they should have some idea where you are at. As you said, they chose to contact you so feel them out and be upfront. A lot of times a senior is the preferred, but good ones are hard to find so a less experienced up and comer with a good head on his/her shoulders is the consolation prize.

Good luck!
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • systemstechsystemstech Member Posts: 120