Options

Avoiding IT jobs with staff management duties

EagerDinosaurEagerDinosaur Member Posts: 114
I've been a developer for decades in various languages, so I tend to to be called a "Senior Developer", and I think I'm pretty good at the technical aspects of my job. During that time, I've tried to avoid posts that involve management of other staff, because I don't think I have the innate people-skills for it, and I probably have some Aspergers traits. I was a line-manager for another person years ago, and that didn't end well. I'm happy providing technical leadership to other people when appropriate.

Does anyone else deliberately avoid jobs involving formal staff-management duties?
From an employer's point of view, what are the benefits of giving primarily technical people staff-management duties?
Engaging in stereo-types for a moment, do people prefer to be managed by "technical" or "non-technical" people?

Comments

• Options
    gespensterngespenstern Member Posts: 1,243 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I avoid staff management. I managed up to 10 people at some points in my career and didn't like it. Never failed a project I managed, however... Now I switched to 100% consulting.

Can't tell on employer's PoV...

I prefer to be managed by tech people or at least former techs and hate to be managed by non-techs. Managing me isn't easy as I'm self-managed for pretty much everything, but it's especially uneasy for non-tech people...
  • Options
    CyberscumCyberscum Member Posts: 795 ■■■■■□□□□□