When to start CCIE studies?

Danielh22185Danielh22185 Member Posts: 1,195 ■■■■□□□□□□
Now, obviously a loaded question so bear with me as this is just to really gauge some of you folks either working at it now or have accomplished it. Also I fully understand that "when to go for it" depends heavily on one's personal life and how much time they can invest in the grind, and also what their current level of experience is, etc. So I figured I'd tell you a little bit about me.

Right now I work as a 2nd level Net Ops support role for a very large enterprise network (50,000+ Cisco devices, ranging from 2690 switches to Nexus 9ks and everything in-between, also including other vendor equipment such as F5, Citrix Netscaler, Riverbed, Arista, and Juniper). This company is my first exposure to a network role which I think has been a really good one for me considering I was working help desk support just 3.5 years back. My role is basically to ensure 90% of all network events are resolved within the company, that remaining 10% would be escalated to our 3rd level support for things unresolved within my group, this could be complex routing issues, unidentified software bugs, design related issues, etc, etc.

I have been in my current level 2 role for 15 months now. Previous to that I was working a level 1 support role (same company) that really did not give me the spring board to learn as much as I have in my current role. However now I feel in my current role I am approaching my learning ceiling.