Taking Security + Nov 10, 2015

$bvb379$bvb379 Member Posts: 155
New to the forums. Been lurking for a while now. This will be my first cert, in IT (hopefully). I am buying the retake just in case because this is going to be out of pocket and I do not want to take the risk. Currently in the second round of interviews with a cyber-security company specializing in hardware-based cyber-security. I figured getting this cert would help my chances as it does say "Security + preferred" on the job description. I am new to IT/Security, not to say that I am not a "computer person", I am but recently decided I need a career change. A few colleagues and mentors have given me advice and study material as well as the potential job. I am very persistent and determined to learn. I also pick things up quickly. I am just worried about the conceptual nature of the test rather than it being strictly knowledge based.

I have been studying for about 2 months now, everyday, anywhere from 4-6 hours a day.

I used Gibson's Kindle Book, Prof Mes, CBT Nugz, examcompass, quizlet, and some random websites for quizzes.

Opinions on multi-answer questions....some of the practice tests I have taken factor in that you answered half of the question correctly, like a choose 2 answer question, and gives you 50% credit. Other practice tests just count it out right wrong if you do not choose all of the correct answers. What are your thoughts on the actual exam? Do you think they give you credit for partial correct answers?

Also, I have been seeing on here that you need a 83.3% to pass. Not sure if anyone is incorporating the 11.1% they already give you which takes it down to a passing score of 72.2%. In any case, I am hoping I get closer to the maximum 90 questions. I feel like I am going to need it.

Thanks.

Comments

• hannismhannism Member Posts: 112
    Good luck, you should be more than ready based on what you've put down.