My CCIE R&S Thread

IristheangelIristheangel Mod Posts: 4,133 Mod
Took a few days to dust myself off and here I am :) Round 2.

This one is probably going to take another 1.5-2 years to accomplish but I'm dropping the gauntlet and laying claim to my next big certification :)

Sadly, not doing intense R&S tasks every day and working through the CCIE DC have made me a little rusty. Where I used to consider myself a strong CCNP R&S, I'd probably say I'm a bit weaker now so to improve myself and get myself up to snuff, I've got the following reading list that I previously purchased:
- Comer's Internetworking with TCP/IP Vol 1
- Illustrated TCP/IP Vol 1 and 2
- TCP/IP Vol 1 and 2
- CCIE v5 Vol 1 and 2
- Cisco QoS
- End-to-End QoS Network Design
- IPv6 Fundamentals

Beyond that, a friend recommended another IP Multicast book and an OSPF book that I'm waiting on. I have a Safari books subscription so I'll supplement any other books with that.

I'm combine my reading with labbing and when I get through what I need to from the above, I'll probably end up in Narbik's 10-day CCIE class. Since I live very close to his class and I've had a few friends go through it, I've had the good luck of sitting in his class a couple times for long periods of time and I found it really engaging. I think his class could definitely bridge some gaps between the books and the labbing and just make me a better engineer altogether. That and the "free retake" policy is pretty awesome.

For videos, I'll watch INE and IPExpert. I've watched some of the Brian Dennis videos and found them pretty insightful. As far as IPX, I've heard great things about the old Marko videos and JP Cedeno is supposed to be pretty awesome as well.