Options

Need advice on how to start.

hannismhannism Member Posts: 112
Hello friends.

I have ZERO experience with Linux.

My goal is to obtain the Linux+ certification, and the Red Hat Certified Systems Administrator certification by the end of next year.

I will begin on December 1, after I pass the CCNA: Security exam (which is what I'm studying now).

So far, I have these materials...

CBT Nuggets - Linux Essentials
CBT Nuggets - Linux in the Real World
CBT Nuggets - LPI-1 101 and CompTIA Linux+
CBT Nuggets - LPI-2 102 and CompTIA Linux+
Linux Bible - 9th Edition

I'm open to any advice on what books I need to buy, and/or if I need more videos.

My plan is to focus on Linux+ first. Once I get it, I'll circle back and figure out a game plan for RHCSA.

1. Build a new computer. Put my Mac and Windows machines in the closet.
2. Install CentOS and Debian (Correct me, if I need something else)
3. Watch Linux Essentials first. (Of course, I'm practicing on my linux box, and reading at the same time).
4. Watch LPI-1
5. Watch LPI-2
6. Watch Linux in the Real World
7. Subscribe to LinuxAcademy
8. ?
9. Profit???

Is this a feasible game plan, or am I missing something?

I plan to study at least two hours a night on weekdays, and while at home, only use Linux as my personal computer.

At least four hours a day on weekends.
Obtained: CompTIA Linux+ [X] CompTIA Security + [X] CCENT [X] CCNA: Routing and Switching [X] CCNA: Security [X] CCNA: Wireless [X] Linux Server Professional (LPIC-1) [X] SUSE Certified Linux Administrator [X]
Currently studying: Red Hat Certified System Administrator > Red Hat Certified System Engineer > CISSP

Comments

• Options
    JockVSJockJockVSJock Member Posts: 1,118
    Sounds like you have what you need.

I would also recommend to get a vm player like Virtual Box and create a lab where you can experiment.

Also start reading the following websites:

www.linuxquestions.org
    The Geek Stuff