Question about Security +401 exam

rissi17rissi17 Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all,

I have taken the sys 401 exam twice now and have failed. I have been studying the certmaster from comptia's website and have taken the pre test within Gibson's book get certified and scored an 81. When I took the exam, there were only 79 questions and when I took the test back in 2010(lifetime cert) there were 90 questions. Are there only 79 questions on the test now?

Any help would be great. I have been studying now for over two months and need to get this right.

Thanks,
Tony

Comments

• 636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□
    What areas are you having trouble with? Are you strong on topics A and B but weak on Y and Z, or do you just not know anything in general (I don't mean that as bad as it sounds).
  • rissi17rissi17 Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
    The study material that I have been going over was nowhere close to the questions that I encountered on the actual exam. Also, I was looking forward to 90 questions and only got 79 both times. Is that the norm now?
    I am also getting all of the Comptia Certmaster questions correct in every section, but I really feel that it is a false sense of security going into the exam.
  • tedjamestedjames Member Posts: 1,179 ■■■■■■■■□□
    rissi17 wrote: »
    The study material that I have been going over was nowhere close to the questions that I encountered on the actual exam. Also, I was looking forward to 90 questions and only got 79 both times. Is that the norm now?

I took the SYO-301 test over a year ago and had 73 or so multiple choice questions along with six performation-based questions. I was also expecting 90.
    Yes, I just took the sys 401 exam twice and only got 79 to include 6-7 scenario based questions at the beginning of the exam.
  • $bvb379$bvb379 Member Posts: 155