Where to start ?

aschenbecheraschenbecher Member Posts: 27 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi ,
I am very new to virtulization.

Most experience i have is running vms on my home pc using Vmware Player.

I like virtulization and i know its the future.

I want to get VMware cert and get a better job.

So , i would like to know where and how do i start to learn more advance virtulization , like Virtual servers etc ?

Where should i start ?

Comments

• dustervoicedustervoice Member Posts: 877 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I think youve partially answer your own question. 1. Get Certified 2. Set up a home lab try to get a old server on which you can load a type 1 hypervisor. 3. Join a forum/discussion group that discusses virtualisation issues etc.
  • TacoRocketTacoRocket Member Posts: 497 ■■■■□□□□□□
    It's not required and closer to sales than hands on but check out the VCA-DCV. It's VMware's beginner certification. If you like what you see then you can check out the VCP. Which you can sign up for the required class through Stanly. If it seems over your head take a step down and learn the building blocks.
    These articles and posts are my own opinion and do not reflect the view of my employer.

Website gave me error for signature, check out what I've done here: https://pwningroot.com/
  • markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    You can sign up for a ton of VMware products and get a 30-day trial license for it. I'd probably recommend starting with installing ESXi on a machine and vCenter/vSphere on another.
  • MowMow Member Posts: 445 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Personally, I lab best when I understand the basics of the technology. I am trying to get the VCP5-DCV before the end of the year. This is what I am doing.
    1. Download the blueprint.
    -The exam blueprint actually contains links to documents that have a ton of information about VMware. I downloaded all of the documents.
    2. Read the documents.