Options

My Certification Path

CJFountainCJFountain Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone!

I'm new to TE, and have recently started looking into different certifications. I was hoping some friendly TE folks could help me decide which certs are worth pursuing, and which I should leave out. Currently, I've got a list of about 50 certs I would like to get, but I currently have none. Here's a bit about what I want to accomplish:

Dream job: RHEL Admin, Penn. Tester, Network Admin, etc.
Interests: Cybersecurity, Linux, Virtualization/Cloud, Networking
Degrees: AAS: Information Systems Security, AAS Network Technology
Working on BS in Cybersecurity

First up for me is CompTIA A+, Network+, and Security+, Linux+(?) (in that order). Then CCENT/CCNA, RHCSA/RHCE, and VCP. After than, I'm not sure where to go, or if the certs I've picked out are the best ones to start with. Anyone have any thoughts?

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    john_mirandajohn_miranda Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Depending on your experience/knowledge (judging by your AAS degrees you should have some basic network knowledge.) I would skip the Network+ and just go for the CCNA instead. Honestly I couldn't tell you about the A+ for your career path. A+ is really useful for your Helpdesk/Desktop Support positions and unless you plan to start there then I don't know how beneficial it will be for you career. Definitely get the Security+ though! Linux+ also will not hurt if you start diving into penetration testing, a lot of strong tools are made for unix.

After that your certifications will be dependent on what job you obtain or what technologies you want specialize in. If security will be your specialization then a CISSP certification should be on your path. Looks like school is really well lined up for you though!

Anyways, just my thoughts and opinions.
  • Options
    Thanks John!