Juniper vs Cisco

pearljampearljam Member Posts: 134
I am currently working in a Data Center and let two men into their rack today. I noticed they had some Juniper equipment and said, "so you prefer Juniper over Cisco?" The one guy started talking and said that it's way better, almost as if there is no comparison. He said to me that "knowing Cisco isn't going to hurt, people will begin to recognize you but Juniper is where it's at."

When I started hearing this, I thought the guy was on crack. Really, what do I know I graduated three months ago and started work two months ago. Have started studying for my CCNA and have never laid hands on Juniper equipment. I'm just starting out. Is there any validity to what these guys were talking about or is it just their personal opinion? Because I see Cisco owning the market, I'm opening racks almost everyday and that was the first piece of Juniper equipment I've seen in two months lol.

Comments

• TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Juniper exists...just like F5. Last time I checked Cisco is in any data center not doing things on the cheap.
  • TWXTWX Member Posts: 275 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Eh. Juniper, Brocade/Foundry, HP/3com, Extreme, Avaya/Nortel, whatever. Just make it work.

We only pulled our last Foundry FastIron access switches a few months ago and there might still be a couple of core devices running.
  • pevangelpevangel Member Posts: 342
    Cisco has great marketing and they have done well with getting people educated on their products which means a bigger talent pool. Juniper mostly focuses on routing, switching, and security. They're not a big player in wireless and do nothing with voice. They use to have a remote access solution with JUNOS Pulse, but that has broken off into a different company called Pulse Secure.