Aced interview - no job offer

jaffejaffe Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
So I just want to post this to vent a little bit.

I started studying networking in 2012 and obtained a 2 year Associates of Applied Science Degree in Networking Administration. I started in an internet help desk in September 2014 at a small bandwidth management company for MDU's (apartment complexes near universities around the US). I was promoted to their NOC in March 2015. The NOC is pretty close to an engineering level because we configure and troubleshoot multi-layer switches and servers running PfSense all day (over 200 customer networks with hundreds of thousands of end users) while the network engineers mostly work on proactive design / implementation.

[Side note: I obtained my Network + N10-006 cert in August this year and have my INCD1 scheduled for December and will schedule my ICND2 for January. I feel that these certs will be fairly simple to obtain thanks to my active personal studying and my employers engineers being available for explaining concepts and protocols with ease anytime I have a question.]

So I decided to look around for new jobs because I'm craving an network engineer position (my current employer is undergoing an acquisition which is why I'm planning on leaving) and I know I'm capable of succeeding in the role, I landed an interview for a "Network Engineer" role administering and troubleshooting Cisco routers / switches / wireless LANs at my local community college (Austin, TX) which has over 8 campuses. The compensation was between 51k - 71k. I believe I answered 90% of their questions correctly (interviewed by the IT director and three tier 2 network engineers) during the interview and everything was going great. I could tell that I fit right in with their culture as well.