may try to take server+

cchampcchamp Member Posts: 31 ■■□□□□□□□□
im new to the it field i dont have any experience, i am a student i just got net + a few days ago, im putin my resume out now to try to get in the working field.
but i was curious about server+ , i looked on comptia website and seen the passing score is a 615, so i figured it might not be that hard since i also hit like 657on A+ hardware and 644on net + anyway do yall think server will be a next good move.........

Comments

• bighornsheepbighornsheep Member Posts: 1,506
    Why not pursue Security+? Server+ seems equal to A+, so if you already have A+, why not save the time and money to pursue the next level in your certification journey?
    Jack of all trades, master of none
  • janmikejanmike Member Posts: 3,076
    Server+ has been called "advanced A+" because it emphasizes server hardware. The exam itself was not at all like the A+ exam. Server+ gives you a lot of mostly short problem-solving questions. It is also the natural "next step" in the CompTIA sequence. But, like bighornsheep would indicate, the exam fee does seem to be rather expensive. On the other hand, it's a lifetime cert and there is a lot of the materials learned in Server+ studies that you will not get in any other cert. I've always been glad that I have my Server+.

cchamp says
    putin my resume out now to try to get in the working field.

I assume you mean the "networking field". To get anywhere in networking you will need both Microsoft and Cisco studies and experience. Unix/Linux experience is not far behind. If you get into a large enterprise operation, you will likely specialize. But, the smaller organization will expect to see someone with a "complete package" of experience.