Two routers for CCENT?

beach5563beach5563 Member Posts: 344 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi guys, just have a basic question. I'm studying for CCENT right now and I have two 3600 series routers and packet tracer. Finances are real tight because wife just had surgery and I'm the only one working. Are there labs that I can do with just two routers for CCENT. I figure I can use Packet Tracer for switching stuff maybe. I just want to at least have some basic exposure to real routers. I work as an L1 network Infrastructure tech so as far as switches go I am around them at work doing basic tasks. No heaven stuff but upgrading them and sometimes basic base config tasks. I will probably add to my lab later but I want to try to make the best of what I have now.

Comments

• TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□
    You can do a lot of stuff with two routers. What IOS version? Look into making loopback interfaces for routing protocols to share. It won't be unbelievable but it probably will work "ok". Do you have multiple serial interfaces or multiple Ethernet interfaces?
  • beach5563beach5563 Member Posts: 344 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Thasks so much, they are older routers running 12.4. Been looking online and looks like there are quite a few things I can do. I may have to do switching in PT.
    12.4 is what I have on my 2611xm's that I used. I never really ran into issues throughout my CCNA (I took it right after the refresh).
    Ok sounds good. I will probably get a few switches for Ccna. I guess for now I will use Packet Tracer. However I'm having issues trying to connect via putty and Tera term says com point not working. Went into Device manager and I don't even see a ports option.
    Are you talking about via serial? Make sure you have the right drivers...getting that to work was the biggest pain of the entire prep. The best advice I can give is google it. It requires some tinkering.
  • volfkhatvolfkhat Member Posts: 1,046 ■■■■■■■■□□