Need Advice for starting a Career in IT

jaronjaron Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Basically, what I would like to know is if I can start a career in IT with just Certifications, or do I need a degree?
If I do need a degee, must it be a Bachelors?

Im 22 and I have obtained an Assoicates in Applied Science from a local community college. Since I graduated High School, I have been trying to decide what I want to do as a career.
This fall I attended a University to pursue a degree in Computer Science, but I found that I did not have an interest in all the math and theortical stuff I would need to learn.

I have considered switching to a Information Technology degree at this University, however, this degree would require me to take another 70 - 80 credits (which is obviously time comsuming and costly).

I am also considering going back to my community college, as they offer an "Advanced Certificate" in IT and also an Associates in Applied Science paired with IT. This would be far cheaper and take less time, but I am conserned that it might not a great enough level education for employers to consider hiring.

Lastly, I have been browsing the web about this subject. Have found some sources claiming that the Ceritifications are more significant for getting into the field and that you can use these to get an entry level job, and start gaining experience.

Any advice from you guys would be greatly appreciated,
Thank You

Comments

• fmitawapsfmitawaps Banned Posts: 261