Offered a digital forensics role!

si20si20 Member Posts: 543 ■■■■■□□□□□
I've been seeking a digital forensics role since early 2014. Almost 2 years later, I attended an interview with 15 people and managed to get into the top 4 and get offered a job. The day consisted of team building exercises, an exam and a presentation. Initially, 4-5 people got knocked out of the 15 and I was in the top 10, then after my presentation, I was told that I was in the top 4 and they were going to offer me the job (in law enforcement).

I'm going to be taking a big pay cut (50%) which sounds absolutely crazy, I know. But for the past 18 months, i've been doing jobs that I hate because I couldn't get into forensics. I currently work in a well-paid job but the actual job role itself is absolutely soul-destroying (I work in a SOC).

I'm waiting on the contract to arrive along with a confirmation of my vetting, and i'm good to go!

Comments

• dustervoicedustervoice Member Posts: 877 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Congrats on your new job. Well done!icon_cheers.gif If this is what you really want to do then you shoudn't worry about the money too much i'm sure the money will come in due course. I've also looked at forensic roles here in UK but i would be taking a 75% pay cut. roles are interesting however money sucks. It is really that bad working in a SOC?
  • si20si20 Member Posts: 543 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Congrats on your new job. Well done!icon_cheers.gif If this is what you really want to do then you shoudn't worry about the money too much i'm sure the money will come in due course. I've also looked at forensic roles here in UK but i would be taking a 75% pay cut. roles are interesting however money sucks. It is really that bad working in a SOC?

Thanks Duster! The money does suck but from what i've seen, once you've got experience in forensics, the money goes up. My observations show that you could have 10+ years IT experience, but unless you have forensics experience, you WILL begin on a basic salary.