Options

Distance-learning (University courses)

si20si20 Member Posts: 543 ■■■■■□□□□□
Since internet has became extremely popular and is generally much faster than it used to be, online courses have popped up out of nowhere. I'm currently studying my MSc degree via a distance-learning course and I have to say: i'm not a fan of distance-learning.

I personally find that not being physically there, being taught face-to-face is difficult. You watch lecture videos of what happened in the class. Often someone will ask a question but you don't hear the question, just the answer. Sure, the lecturer should repeat the question, but that rarely ever happens. The online medium means that getting support is difficult. I work full time and do the MSc (but the masters course said this distance-learning course supports people who work full time, so it should be fine, right?). Well, not quite. If i'm stuck with a piece of work on Friday evening at 8pm - I wont get a reply until Monday if i'm lucky, which means the weekend is wasted.

Has anyone else been on a distance-learning course (degree-wise, not so much certs) and found a similar thing? Or are some courses much better than the one i'm on?

Comments

• Options
    urstuffplz1urstuffplz1 Member Posts: 76 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I was originally studying for a degree with the Open University in computing and found the course and distance learning standards to be quite poor, hard going and lack of support throughout - like you I would email and have to wait days for a response to something important for an assignment, which resulted in me getting dragged behind.

I originally completed 3/4 of my first year, but decided to drop the OU and I started university with Plymouth in September - I am glad I done this!
    2018 Goals: CCNP Route 300-101[X], CCNP Switch 300-115[X], CCNP T'Shoot 300-135[X], VCP-DCV 6[], 70-412[], 70-413[], 70-414[]
  • Options
    OctalDumpOctalDump Member Posts: 1,722