Hello from New Zealand from a Cert newbie with big ambitions!

scottishkiwiscottishkiwi Member Posts: 47 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone.

What an awesome website Tech Exams is!

I recently moved to New Zealand from the UK. Thought I would be able to walk into a job when I arrived but has been much harder than I expected.. it may be due to my 7 month work visa or it may be despite experience I hold no formal qualifications or certifications.

I have worked as a laptop technician for 5 years previous to 4 years working in a Tier 1 network company as a service delivery manager. So I have a lot of experience working on computer hardware and software and have a good overview of IPVPN/MPLS networks and managing the delivery of large networks (not as a technician but as a delivery manager).

I don't however have any qualifications or certificates to backup my knowledge of computer hardware/software and nor do I have anything to backup my service delivery role. I went to a recruitment agency when I arrived in NZ and was told that I will struggle to get employment within either a technical or telecoms delivery role since I am from the UK (and therefore from companies they don't recognise) and because I hold no formal qualifications.

I gave it 6 weeks and despite applying for over 50 positions ranging from tech support to sales support and service delivery I have heard nothing but 3 rejection emails.. having come from 10 years of solid work and never out of employment I am really finding this lack of work difficult to cope with.

So I then come across this website.. and although I had thought about doing distance learning courses etc. previously I had never actually considered certifications but from what I have been reading it sounds like this could be the way forward for me.

I am in a position right now where I have lots of time and have my savings doing nothing so thinking what should I do?.. or more accurately, where should I start?