Options

Passed 801 and 802! - Experienced IT

Rexford88Rexford88 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello guys,

First of all, a bit of background about myself:

- I've been working in the IT field for 6 years, 1 year on the road and 5 years in a multinational corporation as level 2 and level 3 IT technical support.

- I'm 27 years old

- I always assumed the CompTIA A+ certification was some kind of base IT certification for people not in the IT world.

--

Not so long ago, my IT contract for the multinational ended, so I was back into looking for a job. When sending some resume and searching for opportunity, I decided that, since I had free time, I could do a bunch of certifications, which could help me lend a new job.

I remembered the A+ Certification was somewhat useful to lend an entry job in the IT field. I though it couldn't hurt if I had this certification so last thursday I applied to pass both exams, 801 and 802, on friday the next day.

While I was thrilled and already thinking about what next certification I could complete, I decided to try the practice test and do a bit of studying. What I discovered was a harsh reality. Not only I didn't pass my practice test, but they were a BUNCH of questions not specially related to the IT job I was doing. That's when I realized I were extremely cocky to think I could pass the exam without any study.

I did the 801 on friday morning, I took the whole 90 minutes, reviewing every questions, changing answers, trying to think about tricky questions. I ended up barely passing the 801. As soon I was out of the testing center, I did study the whole time I had left for the 802, and I did pass him without issue.

Here's my tips:

- If you are an experienced IT tech, and you want to take that exam, help yourself: Study and take those practice test prior to the exams.

- I did find the 801 harder than the 802, probably because the 801 is more theorical and the 802 is more practical.