Beginning studying for 210-260

AMD4EVERAMD4EVER Member Posts: 64 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm ready to get started on my journey towards the 210-260 certification. I'm not a network engineer but try to be a jack of all trades so I'd like to become more knowledgeable in networking. I know it is going to take a lot of hard work over the coming months and want to make sure I make good use of my time so any suggestions from the TechExams community on my study plans would be appreciated.

Below is my plan for how I'm going to study:

Step 0: Read through the CCNA Security exam topics
Step 1: OCG book
Step 2: Chris Bryant videos
Step 3: CBT Nugget videos
Step 4: GNS3vault.com labs & Packet Tracer labs

I'll be using Packet Tracer 6.2 through this entire process.

One thing I'd like to start out with is a good basic study guide. That would help to quickly familiarize me with important topics.

I can't wait to get started and look forward to conversing with the community here!

Comments

• ericjohnson22ericjohnson22 Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
    HI

I am just starting studying for the 210-269 also.
    I started with CBTNuggets and the OCG.

I think I like the books and videos for CCNA R&S better but they seem ok so far. The one thing I am worried about is labbing. I don not have a ASA or packet tracer to use so it might make it tough. I have read that GNS3 can do ASA but not very well.

Good Luck!
  • AMD4EVERAMD4EVER Member Posts: 64 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Hey Eric, I did a Google search for Packet Tracer 6.2 and I think it was the second or third link that I clicked on that had a link to the download. I also found links to labs pretty easily as well. I've only briefly looked at the software but was pleasantly surprised to see an ASA 5505 as an option for a device to add to the network. This wasn't available a couple years back when I was doing my CCNA.
  • ArchonArchon Member Posts: 183 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Is the CCNA Security Lab Manual: Version 2 (Lab Companion) worth getting?