OSCP information overload

mabraFoomabraFoo Member Posts: 23 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have been working on the OSCP labs for 5 months. It seems like the more I learn, the harder it is to remember tricks I learned months ago. I don't use the kali tools at work or have any coworkers that know what metasploit is.

Do you guys/gals have any tips that might help?

Comments

• TacoRocketTacoRocket Member Posts: 497 ■■■■□□□□□□
    This sounds terrible but practice, practice, practice.

Granted I haven't done the OSCP but when I'm learning Linux and the command structure, I just repeated commands over and over again.

If not that, then assess your note taking. Is it optimal? Is there a better way that you learn? I like to write to help remember, but that's not for everyone.
    These articles and posts are my own opinion and do not reflect the view of my employer.

Website gave me error for signature, check out what I've done here: https://pwningroot.com/
  • MrAgentMrAgent Member Posts: 1,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    It also definitely helps to take notes. When I was doing the labs, I took notes on everything I did. This proved to be quite useful, as I was able to use things I learned for other boxes in the lab.
  • adrenaline19adrenaline19 Member Posts: 251
    Write a personal step by step checklist and follow it. Under each part of the check list, write some further pointers to remind you of things you've learned previously. If you are methodical, you'll remember things better instead of trying to remember things in a dynamic environment.
  • Mike7Mike7 Member Posts: 1,107 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Somewhere on https://www.offensive-security.com/information-security-training/penetration-testing-training-kali-linux/