Studying CISA as a Recent Grad

1Sep19691Sep1969 Member Posts: 30 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I'm a recent grad with a bachelor degree in Management Information Systems (MIS). I would to write the CISA exam. I've read the comments posted on this site. I understand that reading the manual / study guide and practicing the database questions is the best way of preparing for the exam.

However, when I read the 1st domain chapter and tried to do questions for domain 1, I noticed that there were some terms and topics/tools that aren't covered in chapter 1.

For example, one of the answers for a question is "integrated test facility." When I first saw it, I didn't know what it is and we never covered it in my program. I then noticed that integrated test facility is discussed in the 3rd domain chapter. Another example, "directive control" is no where to be found in the book, which I found strange.

So basically, the manual doesn't cover everything, and for someone who wants to pass the exam with little work experience (besides Coop internships), I am faced with topics/systems/terms that I'm not familiar with: bottleneck locations, topology diagrams, service-oriented architecture, Heuristic scanning tools, etc.

Of course, I can google them and learn this way, but my question is this:

If I try to practice and fully understand all those 1200 questions, is it good enough for me to pass the exam? I read that the actual exam is different and 2% like the database questions, but is it possible that it may contain other terms or questions about certain tools that aren't covered in the manual or database?

I hope I make sense. Please don't tell me how CISA is not entry level, etc, or why I want to pursue it. I just need answers to my question!

Comments

• 636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□
    1Sep1969 wrote: »
    Hello,

for someone who wants to pass the exam with little work experience (besides Coop internships)