Passed 12-19-15 first try - a method recap

sevenate910sevenate910 Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello All,<br>
<br>
Long time listener, first time caller (the older folks will get it). Well today was the day I passed the infamous CISSP exam ... 7 years after I went to my boot camp. To be honest the boot camp freaked me out initially and life got in the way so it has taken me some time to finally get this done. My background is 20 plus years in telecommunications and IT, mostly in management positions. I wouldn't say I'm strong or deep in the technical disciplines but I do understand the "way things work". Here is a recap of what worked for me and what materials I used to prepare.<br>
<br>
- cccure practice tests: Highly recommend just for the ability to buzz through volumes of practice quizzes and identify what areas/domains you need to focus on. The explanations accompanying the questions were exceptional in most cases. <br>
- Shon Harris mp3s: (downloaded from cccure site and listened in the car to/from work, about 45mins each way). These were an excellent resource to get an in depth explanation of the material/concepts. I learn better listening than reading.<br>
- Shon Harris CISSP Practice Exams (2nd Ed): This was an OK resource; I found the questions to be a little too technical and "deeper" than what I was seeing on cccure and in my other materials. Explanations of the answers were great though. <br>
- Shon Harris CISSP AIO (6th Ed): Used as my secondary reading resource. Excellent content, you will get more than you need from this book in my opinion, I found it was easy to get lost in the material. It’s a great book to use in the real IT world though. The practice chapter tests are an excellent resource. The book also came with Total Tester software which I used to take full 250 question practice exams (as a break/change from cccure).<br>