Just passed my CEH =)

ChaseBenfieldChaseBenfield Member Posts: 13 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey all,

I just passed my CEH exam a few days ago at Pearson VUE and thought I might be able to save others studying a ton of time.

What I studied:
  • Official CEH books (Volume 1, Volume 2, Lab Manuals, and Aspen pdf versions)
  • Matt Walker AIO exam guide
  • Sybex
  • Boson
I also took an official "bootcamp" through New Horizons. This included a virtual lab environment to complete a small set of labs on Windows Server 2008, Windows Server 2012, Windows 7, and Backtrack systems without internet access.... This proved to be utterly useless (although other online hacking bootcamps have a better rep).

I took the initiative to set up a hack lab on Windows 7 Ultimate with Kali Linux, Windows 8, Windows Server 2008, and Windows Server 2012 Virtual Box VM's. With these I went through all labs provided in paper version and aspen pdf version lab manuals (more in pdf and the pdf books actually have pages of text to accompany slides in paper back version). I also played with all the tools provided not covered in the lab manuals.

What WAS NOT on the Exam:
  • ANYTHING FROM MATT WALKER AIO EXAM
  • ANYTHING FROM SYBEX Other than information you may need if you don't know basic networking and the like.
  • ANYTHING FROM BOSON I learned a ton of information since I studied all rights wrong answers and scored 100% just didn't help for the exam.
What was on the exam:
  • TOOLS, TOOLS, TOOLS from lab manuals. Many with specific questions on the operation of tools, and syntax of command based tools.
  • QUESTIONS ON RECENT EXPLOITS WITHIN THE LAST FEW YEARS FUNNY CONSIDERING OFFICIAL MATERIAL WAS COPYRIGHTED IN 2011
  • SCENARIO QUESTIONS BASED OFF CONCEPTS FROM OFFICIAL MATERIALS Basically know how attacks work along with respective ports, protocols, architecture, victims/attacker relationships, and OSI layers. If you know this and can visually recall the processes in the slides you are good.