CASP vs CAP

EJMADELINEEJMADELINE Member Posts: 34 ■■□□□□□□□□
Looking for any advice on which one to take two-three weeks from now. I have free training through FedVTE and will order a book if needed. I currently have SSCP and Security +. I'm studying for CISSP, but a job opportunity recently came up and I need something soon that meets the Level II IAM requirement for the 8570. Any suggestions???

Comments

• TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□
    What is your background? If you don't have a background in C&A and working with RMF you have no shot. Typically (ISC)2 exams are harder but I have heard the CASP isn't "easy". Shouldn't you have 6 months to attain if you are selected...
  • danny069danny069 Member Posts: 1,025 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I would do the CASP, it will auto renew your Sec+
    I am a Jack of all trades, Master of None
  • soccarplayer29soccarplayer29 Member Posts: 230 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I think CASP will help prepare you for CISSP more than CAP. CAP is the A&A/RMF process and I would say is only valuable to gov't positions where the CASP applies more widely; however, given that you said you need the cert for IAM-II compliance both would meet that goal. I'd opt for CASP
    Certs: CISSP, CISA, PMP
  • EJMADELINEEJMADELINE Member Posts: 34 ■■□□□□□□□□
    TechGuru80 wrote: »
    What is your background? If you don't have a background in C&A and working with RMF you have no shot. Typically (ISC)2 exams are harder but I have heard the CASP isn't "easy". Shouldn't you have 6 months to attain if you are selected...

I've been working with DoD information systems for a little over five years. The past two years I've more involved with the C&A process and have attended training for RMF and my current job is heavily based off of the JSIG. I would definitely have the time, but I plan to have my CISSP by then if all goes well. It's more of a personal goal to feel like I don't owe anyone anything if I were selected.