How do I start preparing for Security+ Exam

Praj123Praj123 Member Posts: 7 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello,

I am planning to give Security+Exam. How hard is the exam? Where I can find the exam questions and material to study?

Regards,

Praj

Comments

• T-RAVT-RAV Member Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□
    How do you get started? You just gotta do it :) I have a couple certs and I found that once you schedule a date, you tend to buckle down and get it done. it can be a couple months from now, but schedule a date.

I am currently studying for the Sec+. The first thing you need to do is read over this objectives page and kind of gauge what you think you will need to study most. Download a copy of the objectives from Comptia.org

This book seems to be the most popular and the best reviewed. everyone seems to like how similar the practice tests are very close to the real thing. comptia-security-deluxe-study-guide-emmett-dulaney

I also use CBT Nuggets, which I love. there is a 7 day free trial if you don't want to do a subscription. I recommend getting it to use for future certs.
  • TallDude7TallDude7 Member Posts: 61 ■■□□□□□□□□
    SY0-401 is a beast exam. a lot of topics to cover. I went to school and studied for 2 months with 3 study guides (NH school, Gibson, CBT). then I went through the course objectives line by line
  • PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    Praj,

To prepare for this exam or any Comptia exam, download the objectives as already recommended.
    All Comptia exams recommend that the candidate has experience, please reference their recommendations, typically they prefer 500 hours worth of experience. For those lacking experience, lab-ing and job shadowing, as well as a bunch of study have helped them be successful.