GSEC Exam

Infosec LadyInfosec Lady Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Good day all and Merry Christmas.

I'm seeking your advice for GSEC exam, I have my exam within 2 days and I'm worried about.

I have 2 years of experience in InfoSec, I have attended the class, I studied the books, and built the index.

I feel the course contain lots of information where I cannot focus on everything.

I read lot of Threads here in regards the exam, can anyone advise me as I really wanted to pass.

thanks,

Comments

• Infosec LadyInfosec Lady Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
    can anyone assist me please
  • JoJoCal19JoJoCal19 Mod Posts: 2,835 Mod
    Have you taken practice exams yet? How are you scoring? What are your weak domains? I passed the GSEC with an 88 earlier this year, the area that killed my score and dropped me below the 90s was the Linux area as I was fairly useless when it comes to Linux. The practice exams mirror the real exam in how the questions are asked/formatted/difficulty in my opinion. Also I feel with 2 years of experience, you should be comfortable already with a good portion of the GSEC material.

The good thing about the GSEC exam compared to some of the others is that you can look up a lot of the answers. As for the speed of being able to look them up, that's all dependent on how good your index is, and how fast you can flip pages.

I modeled my index based on this How to Guide for making a SANS / GIAC Index with Pictures | Digital Forensics Tips and it served me well.
    Have: CISSP, CISM, CISA, CRISC, eJPT, GCIA, GSEC, CCSP, CCSK, AWS CSAA, AWS CCP, OCI Foundations Associate, ITIL-F, MS Cyber Security - USF, BSBA - UF, MSISA - WGU
    Currently Working On: Python, OSCP Prep
    Next Up:​ OSCP
    Studying:​ Code Academy (Python), Bash Scripting, Virtual Hacking Lab Coursework
  • twodogs62twodogs62 Member Posts: 393 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I agree, be sure you take practice exams as this will help you know if your indexes are sufficient.