Options

Eligible for being SSCP certified?

JC DentonJC Denton Member Posts: 20 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello, everyone!

Before anything else, I would like to apologize in advance for the fairly long post. :)

A few months ago, I decided to formally expand my knowledge regarding information security, so after some thinking, I decided to, for starters, pursue Security+. I'm happy to say that after about a month of preparation and reading different books and watching different CBT materials, I've successfully passed the exam (with surprisingly high score of 874/900 :)), so now I'm thinking about going for, as someone say, the next logical step - the SSCP. Now, I've read many different things about how much working security experience one must have in order to be eligible to be fully SSCP-certified, but I still need more details.

I have more than 5 years of full-time experience as a system administrator in a financial software development/QA company and for the last 2 years I've been working on a Senior System Administrator position in a high-security environment. By "high-security" I mean that the company I'm working for has very strict, well documented and enforced on all levels security policies and procedures. In short, we have everything that I was tested on Security+ exam:
  • Physical security - we have 4 security levels, ACS with proximity badges, video surveillance inside and outside, 24-hour guard inside the premises...
  • NDAs, AUP, Security Policy, change management procedures, internal security audits, high security projects (no workstations, only thin client devices; mobile phones forbidden inside the room), redundant servers for ALL services (DC, File, Web, Mail....)...........
Now, as a Senior SysAdmin, I'm completely responsible for all IT operations in our branch (about 130 people; the whole company has ~1000 employees):
  • I manage IT personnel (5 of them - sysadmins and technicians)