Passed the new 312-50 CEH 12 25 2015

GreaterNinjaGreaterNinja Member Posts: 271
I passed the new CEH 312-50 exam (Post Oct 15, 2015 version) today on my first attempt. It took almost 4 hours to complete. For security reasons I’ll just say I scored really close to 75%. I studied for this exam for about 3 months. Originally I was ready to take it at the end of October but then I read all of the horror stories on techexams. In addition to that my graduate mentor told me 90% of people who attempted
the exam after October 15 – November 1st, 2015 had failed. For more guidance I went to the CEH course mentor at WGU and was also told that only 2 people had passed in a certain week during November. Needless to say, I started doubting myself big time.

Ok now to the exam:
This exam was not an easy exam at all. If you do not have the V9 material and you are a noob, I do not recommend you take this.
Comparatively, I’d say it was 5 to 6 times harder than the CHFI version 8 exam. It was about two to three times harder than Linux+ and VMware VCP 5.5 exams.
Some people *cough* *cough* will say the new CEH (After Oct 15, 2015) is not significantly different than the previous CEH version 8 exam. That’s total bullshit. The exam is quite a bit different.
I will just say what I found very useful:
-Official CEH v8 Books by EC-Council
-Official CEH v9 reading PDFs by EC-Council
-Official CEH V8 ilabs by EC-Council
-Official CEH V9 ilabs by EC-Council
-Google Advanced Operators
-In-depth knowledge of Shellshock, Heartbleed, Poodle, ALE, ARO, SLE, Risk Management Framework. I suggest Wiki or Google and literally write it down and work out some problems.
-EC-Council’s Practice tests
-Shravansoft’s Certified Ethical Hacker **** Sheet
Conclusion:
I strongly recommend the CEH V9 labs and the CEH V9 reading material. Sure it’s filled with spelling and grammar errors, but right now it seems to be the most aligned with the current exam. Be on the lookout for the use of synonyms.