Failed - 1/6/2015 695.

ericrrrericrrr Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
I hope the following helps some of you, cause failing after putting this much work into something really stings.

The first time i took this in AUG 2015, i got admit i half ass'd it. Only studied for two weeks. After I failed that test with 672. I decided to take a one week long boot camp. Ever since then, Ive been studying, going on 6 months, and HARD. (At least 3 hours every day, not exaggerating). I didn't want to leave anything to chance. I am still warping my brain around why I failed this morning, obviously I didn't do something right.

What I studied:
Did 5k+ CCCure Questions. Flash card for every wrong answer.
I pretty much memorized everything, SDLC, CMMI, OSI, ports, attacks, you name it, it turns out the memorization was only the first step, having applied these concept in the real world really helps, but at the very least you need to know the application.

Used the following books as references (and to gain different perspectives)
I did ALL of the end-of chapter questions (400-500 questions per book)

CBK 4th (I'd avoid)
CISSP dummies
AIO 6th
McGraw Hill
Sybex Guide 2015

Other resources:
Transcender 2015 2000+questions
Cyberary

Exam Experience:

90% Experience knowledge
10% What is the definition, where in the osi is x, etc.
  • Questions and Answers were really tricky. Forget just knowing definitions you need to know second, and/or third order effects.
  • I was constantly trying to figure out what the questions was asking. Reading some of the questions 5-6 times for any hints/clues i could use to determine which of the 4 very vague answers to select.
  • Test was heavy in Software development, BCP, SDLC, Security Assessment.

Comments

• danny069danny069 Member Posts: 1,025 ■■■■□□□□□□