Some thoughts on the CISSP exam taken Dec. 10

mikeyoungmikeyoung Member Posts: 101
First I will discuss my preparation, then talk a little about the exam and then what I would/will do next time. Also, let me say that I have been working in IT (in some form or another) since 1976 and currently I am the Director of Technology for a medium-sized community bank in Florida.

I began preparing by taking an excellent online course from Intense School back in September. I then read Shon Harris’s 3rd. Ed, portions of Kurtz and Vines book, and began taking test questions until Early November when I really ramped up my efforts by studying two hours a day , with three to four hours each day on the weekend. I used the CCCure.org test questions, Shon’s CD test engine and a book called Examwise for the CISSP. I also continued reviewing Shon’s book on my weak areas which were numerous and I used Mike Overly’s excellent review and study guide on the CCCure.org site. I took the Thursday before my test off from work to study and take practice tests and on Friday, drove the six hours to St. Pete on Friday, got there in the afternoon, went and found the test facility, had a good dinner, reviewed some test questions and got about seven hours of sleep.

I took the test at the EpiCenter at a satellite of St. Petersburg College. It was an outstanding facility and a great and comfortable place to take the exam. It was a little cool in the room, but that was fine with me. There were 15 test takers and four proctors.
Every one was spaced out well and there was plenty of room in the room and on each table. I showed up around 8:10, we went to the room and were briefed by the proctors at 8:30 and our test began at 8:55. It was all very orderly and well-handled.