PMP or CAPM

mzx380mzx380 Member Posts: 453 ■■■■□□□□□□
I've been working in IT for 10 years but I don't have any real project management experience. I'm not to clear on the requirements for PMP but would I still be able to register for that as opposed to the associate level exam that is CAPM?
icon_redface.gif
Certifications: ITIL, ACA, CCNA, Linux+, VCP-DCV, PMP, PMI-ACP, CSM
Currently Working On: Microsoft 70-761 (SQL Server)

Comments

• OctalDumpOctalDump Member Posts: 1,722
    PMP requires experience managing or directing projects AND 35 hours of project management education. CAPM you can use either project experience OR 23 hours project management education. PMI are fairly strict on the requirements.

My understanding is that the cheapest way to gain the requirements for CAPM is to join your local PMI chapter, and take training through them. They usually run short courses through the year for fairly cheap. You also get networking with the project management crowd, which is a bonus.

So, if you have been running projects, as the project manager or other senior position, and you have the necessary hours, then PMP might be a good option. Otherwise, CAPM is the better option. Both are based on PMBOK, which isn't the only framework for project management, but is fairly popular, so you might have lots of PM experience but still need to do a lot of study to learn the PMBOK way, particularly if you come from an agile background.

The quickest way to get CAPM certified (assuming you don't have the experience) is do a short course - typically 3 or 4 days including the exam.
    2017 Goals - Something Cisco, Something Linux, Agile PM
  • mzx380mzx380 Member Posts: 453 ■■■■□□□□□□
    OctalDump wrote: »
    PMP requires experience managing or directing projects AND 35 hours of project management education. CAPM you can use either project experience OR 23 hours project management education. PMI are fairly strict on the requirements.