CEH or SSCP

bharath917bharath917 Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

I am CCNA Security certified and last week i finished JNCIS(Juniper) Security. I have 3 years of experience in system administration and 1 year experience in network security. Now want to take a break from vendor specific Certification. I am interested in technical concepts of Security.Should i go for CEH or SSCPicon_confused.gif:
Some people say we should read CISSP book for SSCP. But i am not interested in CISSP because it is related to management. Some ppl says CEH just teaches how to use tools. Please suggest....

Comments

• danny069danny069 Member Posts: 1,025 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I'd go for the CEH, primarily because it is more recognized than the SSCP.
    I am a Jack of all trades, Master of None
  • bharath917bharath917 Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks for your response, i am happy with my current job as Network Security Engg and i am not bothered about recognization
    , just need info about which gives more knowledge.
  • NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I don't see the point of CEH for most people unless they are trying to pad their resume or get introduced into pen testing. Maybe I'm wrong there.... Or maybe by technical security concepts you want to learn some pen testing? Definitely couldn't hurt and could be interesting than.

I think CISSP teaches a lot of good security standard practice and procedures. Yes, it done on a management point of view but its still good and relevant information to know for anyone dealing with security. That is why I will be going for the CISSP later this year. And that is why you see it on every other IT Security job posting.

Gratz on the networking security certs btw! icon_thumright.gif
  • danny069danny069 Member Posts: 1,025 ■■■■□□□□□□