Breaking into Linux positions

vanillagorilla3vanillagorilla3 Member Posts: 79 ■■■□□□□□□□
Any tips on breaking into a Linux admin type position? It seems Linux jobs are looking for several years of experience. Currently, I'm wrapping up my MCSA: 2012, but want to start studying for the RHCSA. I thought about getting the Linux+, but I don't know if that would benefit me much.

I'm comfortable with the command line and have installed several different distros over the past couple of years. I've also been studying Python a little here and there. What are some main applications Linux admins use? Containerization seems to be pretty popular.

DevOps positions seem to be relatively new and still undefined, but I do know is that could be something I'm interested in.

By the way, I'm currently a Windows Sys Admin with almost 10 years experience. I do have one Red Hat server, but it never needs anything except updates.

Comments

• UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,564 Mod
    Start learning Linux using VMs...apply for as many jobs as you can.

Start learning and get some Red Hat certs (RHCSA)...apply for as many jobs as you can.

Start playing with Amazon AWS...apply for as many jobs as you can.

There is a lot of demand, so people would rather give you a chance than give a fresh grad, your sysadmin experience is valuable :)
    Certs: GSTRT, GPEN, GCFA, CISM, CRISC, RHCE

Check out my YouTube channel: https://youtu.be/DRJic8vCodE 

• JockVSJockJockVSJock Member Posts: 1,118
    Check out linuxacademy.com for more cert training (Red Hat, Puppet/Chef and AWS)

Learn Bash and Sed/Awk
    ***Freedom of Speech, Just Watch What You Say*** Example, Beware of CompTIA Certs (Deleted From Google Cached)

"Its easier to deceive the masses then to convince the masses that they have been deceived."
    -unknown
  • XavorXavor Member Posts: 161