Newbie here looking for Networking info

TechnicalJayTechnicalJay Member Posts: 219 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey guys,

I am very new here(Just made an account and found the site) and would like to progress in my career. Right now I am working as a desktop support which is pretty entry level and will have been here for 2 years in March. This is my first and only real IT job.

I was debating on which path I should take and decided to choose networking. I am wondering how often the network+ exam changes(Since this is a new year). The reason I ask this is because I was looking at this course below, and would you recommend the Mike Meyers Network+ course?

https://www.udemy.com/comptia-network-certification-n10-006-the-total-course/

Any guidance or tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Comments

• TechnicalJayTechnicalJay Member Posts: 219 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I am also wondering how long a person with no experience should study for?
  • twistedkarmatwistedkarma Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Welcome!

I'll start by saying this - Based on what you've said and your current experience, I would recommend you begin with your CompTIA A+ Certification. This will allow you to reinforce what you currently know, no doubt teach you some new things and touch slightly on networking fundamentals. It should also give you the confidence to keep progressing in the pursuit of higher education.

As far as the Network+ certification is concerned..

CompTIA updates their exams in three-four year intervals. The latest update on the Network+ exam was released in 2015 (edited). If you begin studying now, you'll be preparing for the N10-006 (current version) and you'll have adequate time to do so.

Mike Meyers, in my opinion, is great! Especially for beginners attempting to get their feet wet. I would suggest purchasing his book to go along with his video course, as he has literally built this course off of it.