Options

What next?

ArchonArchon Member Posts: 183 ■■■□□□□□□□
I have passed the CEH exam and have the CISSP exam coming up in the next few months. I am already looking to the next one. I am currently a sys admin looking to progress more into security. Which GIAC exams would you recommend I look at?

Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    JoJoCal19JoJoCal19 Mod Posts: 2,835 Mod
    Since you're looking to get into security, I would recommend the SANS SEC401 course first which correlates to the GSEC exam. Also I see you're going to attempt the CISSP exam. Do you already meet the prerequisite experience for it, or are you wanting to become an ISC2 Associate of CISSP?
    Have: CISSP, CISM, CISA, CRISC, eJPT, GCIA, GSEC, CCSP, CCSK, AWS CSAA, AWS CCP, OCI Foundations Associate, ITIL-F, MS Cyber Security - USF, BSBA - UF, MSISA - WGU
    Currently Working On: Python, OSCP Prep
    Next Up:​ OSCP
    Studying:​ Code Academy (Python), Bash Scripting, Virtual Hacking Lab Coursework
  • Options
    I meet the prerequisites with my masters degree in computer forensics and have been a sys admin for 5 years.

So does GSEC cover security as a whole?
  • Options
    cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    I'm not so sure about GSEC. With the certs you have done I have a feeling you would be going over more of the same stuff. That's why I never took GSEC. I looked at the syllabus and said "been there, done that."

I'm thinking maybe GCED would be a better choice as it will give you a glimpse of many security areas without spending time in all the lower layer basics that GSEC covers. The problem with GCED is that is not that popular on the job boards. GSEC, GPEN, and GCIH will win any day.
  • Options
    I don't mind going over the same topic as it will be fresh in my mind from the other exams. Can i just pick up a GSEC book and then sit the exam?
  • Options
    LionelTeoLionelTeo Member Posts: 526 ■■■■■■■□□□