Options

No experience resume

EmphasisxEmphasisx Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm going to look for a job soon but I have no experience in the IT field, only food service. How would I go about creating a resume?

Comments

• Options
    Arod95Arod95 Member Posts: 216 ■■■□□□□□□□
    What I was advised when I was in a similar situation was to take the skills/things you did on the job and tailor them to show how they would apply to a completely different field. If you would like once I get home from work I can show you my resume. I use to work at Papa John's and Firehouse Subs
  • Options
    That would be great! Thanks!!!
  • Options
    JasionoJasiono Member Posts: 896 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I'm extremely interested in seeing that resume now. Are you uploading it here?
  • Options
    bloodshotbettybloodshotbetty Member Posts: 215
    I used my cover letter as a way to highlight how the skills I learned at previous jobs will transfer over to my new job. Here is my resume and cover letter. A good friend of mine helped me with the resume so I can't take all of the credit. :)

A+ certified
    Bachelors of Science in Social Work, Augsburg College
    Working on: Network+
  • Options
    N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Focus on customer service, client relationship management. Those are your friend, list all the years you provided customer service. It won't go unnoticed.
  • Options
    doobudoobu Member Posts: 87 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Customer service skills can take you a long way. I've come into contact with a lot of IT personnel that have dog **** communication skills. It's very important to be able to relate and talk to people, which you've probably developed well over the years. Sell yourself like you would your products. You know the ins and outs better than anyone of your skills and talents (talent for learning and applying as well. Customer service requires you to think on your feet and put out fires often).

You got this. :)
  • Options