Options

GCIH and CEH

ArabianKnightArabianKnight Member Posts: 278 ■■■□□□□□□□
I am currently studying for my CEH now and have noticed that many of the topics covered are also covered in the GCIH exam. Would it benefit me to take both exams as I imagine the GCIH would be harder and maybe more in-depth. Anyone has taken both care to compare the two?

Comments

• Options
    mataimatai Member Posts: 232 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I'm planning on taking the GCIH this Friday and the CEH a week later so I'd be interested as well. I've just heard that if you can pass the GCIH, the CEH should be a breeze.
    Current: CISM, CISA, CISSP, SSCP, GCIH, GCWN, C|EH, VCP5-DCV, VCP5-DT, CCNA Sec, CCNA R&S, CCENT, NPP, CASP, CSA+, Security+, Linux+, Network+, Project+, A+, ITIL v3 F, MCSA Server 2012 (70-410, 70-411, 74-409), 98-349, 98-361, 1D0-610, 1D0-541, 1D0-520
    In Progress: ​Not sure...
  • Options
    TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□
    CEH, OSCP, GCIH all have similarities on the subjects they test from what I can tell (I have not taken the GCIH but I looked at the website). What is your purpose for taking either? CEH is a known by HR so that is a definite benefit regardless of what anybody says...because that is the first hurdle when looking for jobs. I would assume GCIH is not as much...and on indeed there was almost double the postings for C|EH vs GCIH. So from a knowledge standpoint, you probably will not get a ton of differences (although C|EH is updating the exam)....but I would do it if I was in your position and had the money or an employer backing.

Also look at the requirements for the C|EH....two years of experience to self-study or you have to take an official training (starting at around $1,800 for self paced).
  • Options
    LionelTeoLionelTeo Member Posts: 526 ■■■■■■■□□□