SANS MSISE Degree

URG_PSH_FINURG_PSH_FIN Member Posts: 33 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am looking to see if anyone out there is enrolled in, or has completed, the SANS MSISE program?

If so, what did you think of it? How were the presentation/research courses? I have taken several SANS courses (SEC 401, SEC 504, FOR 572, and others) and wanted to see how those translated to the rest of the curriculum.

What did you do to finance it? Since SANS.EDU is not Title IV, typical loans do not apply.

Thanks for any input!
MS in Information Assurance - Regis University

2018 Goals - [ ] GSE Lab [ ] OSCP Enrollment
Late 2018-Early 2019 Goals: [ ] RHCSA [ ] RHCE

Comments

• RobicusRobicus Member Posts: 144 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Hi URG_PSH_FIN,

I applied to the program last Spring, and have been enrolled for 3 months now. I'm pretty new to the program, but I will try my best to provide some insights.

Overall, I think it's a great program. It's pretty much an assortment of SANS courses packaged nicely into a graduate program-- justified by the 'extra' work: forced gold papers, group projects, and presentations. I'm currently working on two of the three required gold papers (401 and 503) in my first semester. This is a bit crazy and considered "front loading", but I had a bit of a scheduling snafu.

The gold papers really take the learning outcomes to a new level: it's fascinating submitting a research topic (as an abstract), having an advisor hand select your topic, and then working with the individual to provide a unique contribution to the security community.

I can't comment on the presentations/group projects yet-- my first presentation is scheduled for next May. I did however, attend another student's presentation this past September. It was pretty straight forward. A 30 minute presentation outlining the key research findings of the student's gold paper.